Modric beats Ronaldo and Messi to win 2019 Golden Foot Award

Luka Modric travelled to Monaco to collect the 2019 Golden Foot award, which is given to successful players over the age of 29.

The Croatian became the 17th player to receive the prize, with the first having been awarded to Roberto Baggio in 2003 whilst the Italian was plying his trade at Brescia.

“It is an honour for me to receive this award,” Modric said.

“I am returning to my best level, as I showed in the last game [against Eibar]. 

“There are seven very important matches until the end of the year and we will try to keep playing well.”

Spanish players have won the Golden Foot on two occasions, with Andres Iniesta in 2014 and Iker Casillas three years later, while Paris Saint-Germain player Edinson Cavani was the last to collect it in 2018.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.