Gernot Rohr names 18-man Nigeria squad for Liberia friendly

Gernot Rohr has named his 18-man squad for Nigeria’s friendly against Liberia in Monrovia on Tuesday.

The German handler has allowed seven foreign-based players return to their respective clubs while adding four more from the Nigeria Professional Football League.

Goalkeeper Francis Uzoho, Brian Idowu, Leon Balogun, Kenneth Omeruo, Ogenyi Onazi, Ahmed Musa and Odion Ighalo, all of whom started the Super Eagles’ 3-0 victory over Seychelles in Saturday’s 2019 Afcon qualifying clash, have been excused from the team.

Enyimba attacking duo of Mfon Udoh and Sunday Adetunji, Lobi Stars left-back Ebube Duru and defender FC IfeanyiUbah Olamilekan Adeleye were the NPFL players called up for the tune-up clash against the Lone Stars.

Full squad:

Goalkeepers: Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa)

Defenders: Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal); Adeleye Olamilekan (FC IfeanyiUbah); Jamilu Collins (SC Paderborn 07, Germany); Ebube Duru (Lobi Stars).

Midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Beer Sheva, Israel); Kelechi Nwakali (FC Porto, Portugal); Joel Obi (AC Chievo Verona, Italy).

Forwards: Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Simeon Nwankwo (Crotone FC, Italy); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray, Turkey); Sunday Adetunji (Enyimba FC); Samuel Kalu (Bordeaux FC, France); Mfon Udoh (Enyimba).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.